Posted by: dan | April 7, 2009

lemony trinket

citron-green-header(title with apologies to Daniel Handler)

Dan: When adagio sent us their massive selection of teas, the most exciting teas of the selection were those in the tins. At least for me, anyway. These were the loose leaf teas, and were available for instant scent gratification. After prising the lids from these tiny treasure chests, a few grabbed our attention instantly. One of these was the Citron Green.

Tiny tin, loads of leaves!

Tiny tin, loads of leaves!

The reason it grabbed us was the amazing smell. Fortunately, I got it first (I had to distract Ben by passing a number of other teas at him so I could keep it, but get it I did). And I’ve been looking forward to this ever since. The smell, as I said grabbed us with its powerful aroma of lemons. This is somewhat unsurprising considering the tea is called Citron Green, but honestly, I’ve smelled actual lemons that weren’t as fruity as this. Whilst brewing, the smell of the tea starts to come through, diminishing the strength of the lemons. They’re still there, but are now just a starting, piercing flare that’s swiftly followed by a lighter tea smell, with a hint of lime.

Big leaves and lemon peel

Big leaves and lemon peel

I also noticed at this point that there are bits of lemon peel mixed in with the leaves. They weren’t visible when I’d opened it before, so this was a nice surprise. The instructions on the tin state the leaves need to be infused for 3 minutes at 180 degrees, but doesn’t say how much to use. I took a guess by pinching out a few leaves into the infuser, and hoped for the best. Well, I used too much. The infuser instantly filled with huge leaves, which was pleasing. The quality of adagio’s leaves seems to be quite high, and the size is incredible, which brings me back again to the question of suffocating them in bags. I’m much happier seeing them float around properly, releasing their full potential. But perhaps I’m just being snobbish about the whole thing.

It tastes exactly as you would expect it to. It’s very lemony, and hardly like a green tea at all. There is a familiar hint of tea underlying the main citrus flavour, although it is hardly noticeable. As such, this is very drinkable, and you can drink it like a normal tea, i.e. no waiting for it to cool, develop or having an unusual aftertaste. It’s a simple tea that, as adagio say, would be good for green tea beginners, and I can imagine it being a nice iced tea, too.

Dan was drinking adagio’s Citron Green tea, available from mid April at £4.99 for 15 teabags in the UK, or $6 for 4oz in the USA.

Leave a Reply

Categories

